St Augustines Endcliffe

All photographs on this page © Peter Bayliss

In Memory of
(From Rolls)

Roll of Honour Panels


From Canon Odoms Memorials of Sheffield

The War Memorial, set up at a cost of £600, consisted of a beautifully carved Chancel Screen surmounted by a Cross. Running along the top, carved in oak, are the words;

'This Screen was erected by the congregation of S. Augustine's in memory of the men from this parish who died for England in the Great War 1914-18. 'The noble army of martyrs praise Thee, O God.'

Below on each side are alabaster tablets with the names of fifty-seven men who fell in the Great War.

Memorial window featuring Sir Galahad.

'in memory of Captain Stanley Phillips, killed in action 15 September, 1916, aged twenty-six.'


In the south aisle is a carved oak tablet bearing the names of twelve members of the 25th (S. Augustine's) Sheffield Company of the Boys' Brigade who fell in the war, erected by the comrades of their company.'

Memorial Window to Capt. John Roberts, MC.

A richly coloured cover to the font was in 1918 dedicated by Herbert and Anne Toothill, 'In loving memory of our dear nephews, John Toothill Barr, 7th Fusiliers, who was killed in action on 23 April, 1917, at Oppy Wood ; and James Stanley Bissett, 28th Canadians, who died of wounds received at Passchendaele'



Processional Cross presented by Dr. G. Elam 14/12/1919, more than likely to Lieut. Charles Elam who appears on the memorial plaques.

Clergy seat, part of the Rood Screen memorial, inscription reads, 'TO THE GLORY OF GOD AND IN PIOUS MEMORY OF LOVED ONES DEPARTED'

Armitage WH
Ashwin CL
Barlow A
Barr JT
Bell WJ
Bennett JA
Berry RD
Bissett JS
Bradbury EF
Brett HW
Brown HS
Credland H
Cusworth AP
Dawson F
Eadon AM
Elam C
Farr W
Giles AV
Graham E
Greenfield EK
Hardy HJ
Higginbottom C
Hoult RP
Hunt JC
Hutchby JW
James H
Ketterick R
Kibble A
Lait M
Marsden H
Mirfin JC
Mirfin L
Murday M
Needham O
Owen PW
Owen RH
Perrott R
Peters W
Phillips SC
Rodgers EG
Rodgers FC
Rushby RCG
Shirt JW
Slack WJ
Staniforth WM
Thomas A
Thompson W
Turkington I
Turner E
Wales HR
Watson JO
West H
Whipple AH
Whipple LO
Williams D
Williams SH
Wilson G
Wright C

In Memory of
(Boys Brigade Rolls)

Barlow Archibald
Brown Harold S
Farr William 
Greenfield Edward K
Hardy Harry J
James Harry Burton 
Mirfin J Collin
Mirfin Lawrence 
Murday Maitland 
Thompson Walter 
Turkington Ivan 
Wright Clifford 



© Copyright 2010 - 2021 Dean Hill and Stuart Reeves